Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Dynamic Or Static IP ?, Vote now !
 
Do you run your XMail Server with a dynamic or static IP ?
dynamic [ 65 ]  [25.29%]
static [ 192 ]  [74.71%]
Total Votes: 257
Guests cannot vote 
hschneider
Posted on Mar 20 2003, 09:17 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Curious about the results? Then vote! They are directly displayed after voting!

Thanks for your vote!


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
BooT
Posted on Jan 29 2004, 02:29 PM
Quote Post


Guru
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 747
Member No.: 375
Joined: 29-November 02



Hmmmmmmm

500 + people read this post...but only 67 voted?

smile.gif



--------------------
________________________________________________________________________________

--= Running XMail Server 1.22 on Windows 2003 Virtual Server Since 16 August 2006 =--
[--- Ran Xmail on 2000 Server till Aug 2006 ---]
[--- 1.21 From 21 June 2005 till 15 Jan 2006---]
[--- 1.20 From 20 July 2004 till 21 June 2005---]
[--- 1.17 From 20 October 2003 till 20 July 2004---]
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted on Jan 29 2004, 03:41 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



There are daily more 'Guests' than users flying thru. They only can vote, when they register. I would appreciate more voters, too ...


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
tac
Posted on Jun 3 2004, 04:10 AM
Quote Post


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 1148
Joined: 2-June 04



How would you have a dynamic IP running on an e-mail? You couldnt really assign a domain that kept pointing to your IP if your IP kept changing, could you? Wouldnt your e-mail would be like me@66.66.666.6 one day and then you would have to create a new domain full of e-mails like me@55.55.555.5 the next day?

There is nobody on this forum. There are 2 admins who awnser questions, nobody else is knowledgable or awnsers questions. People register on this forum, ask one or two questions, and never return. As for me 2 admins, who i'm sure have other things to work on, is not a large enough pool to make the sevice fast in my humble oppinion. I've had posts up which the admins skipped to awnser a more recent question, and didnt awnser my question until 3 hours later.
PMEmail Poster
Top
atomant
Posted on Jun 3 2004, 06:39 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



Wrong. You can run xmail with dyn IP. That's why there is option in the server.tab file for dyndns.


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
tac
Posted on Jun 3 2004, 03:39 PM
Quote Post


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 41
Member No.: 1148
Joined: 2-June 04



LOL, how can i be "wrong"? i asked a question. I was looking for an explaination from someone, and i guess you sort of provided me with one. But how does DynDNS work?
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted on Jun 3 2004, 04:50 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



>You couldnt really assign a domain that kept pointing to your IP if your IP kept changing, could you?

You can. See e.g. http://no-ip.com ..


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
atomant
Posted on Jun 3 2004, 07:53 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



You create an account at www.dyndns.org site and then you can create for FREE up to 5 domains (3rd level ones). To keep them updating you ip you can use several tools which you can find also on their site.


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
vegetto34
Posted on Jun 4 2004, 12:15 AM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 988
Joined: 16-March 04



QUOTE (tac @ Jun 3 2004, 04:10 AM)
How would you have a dynamic IP running on an e-mail? You couldnt really assign a domain that kept pointing to your IP if your IP kept changing, could you? Wouldnt your e-mail would be like me@66.66.666.6 one day and then you would have to create a new domain full of e-mails like me@55.55.555.5 the next day?

There is nobody on this forum. There are 2 admins who awnser questions, nobody else is knowledgable or awnsers questions. People register on this forum, ask one or two questions, and never return. As for me 2 admins, who i'm sure have other things to work on, is not a large enough pool to make the sevice fast in my humble oppinion. I've had posts up which the admins skipped to awnser a more recent question, and didnt awnser my question until 3 hours later.

Wow....

1) Are you paying for this?
2) How much did you pay to use this?
3) What kind of investment did you put on this software?

The answer is nothing.

Support? *FREE* SUPPORT? Priceless

As a ten year old would say - STFU N00B!
PMEmail Poster
Top
nickp
Posted on Jun 27 2004, 05:34 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 1187
Joined: 27-June 04



QUOTE (tac @ Jun 3 2004, 04:10 AM)
How would you have a dynamic IP running on an e-mail? You couldnt really assign a domain that kept pointing to your IP if your IP kept changing, could you? Wouldnt your e-mail would be like me@66.66.666.6 one day and then you would have to create a new domain full of e-mails like me@55.55.555.5 the next day?

There is nobody on this forum. There are 2 admins who awnser questions, nobody else is knowledgable or awnsers questions. People register on this forum, ask one or two questions, and never return. As for me 2 admins, who i'm sure have other things to work on, is not a large enough pool to make the sevice fast in my humble oppinion. I've had posts up which the admins skipped to awnser a more recent question, and didnt awnser my question until 3 hours later.

If you have broadband, technically your ip address is dynamic but mine has only changed twice in three years. DynDNS.org hosts my domain and I have software that updates the CNAME and MX records at dyndns within 5 minutes of the ip changing.

So YES you can run mail behind a dynamic IP.
PMEmail Poster
Top
Nicram
Posted on Jul 6 2004, 04:38 PM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 55
Member No.: 1198
Joined: 2-July 04



I got dynamic IP. Every connection I got other IP. Every 10 hours i'm reconnecting (& get new IP) by ISP. I got 2 domains from no-ip service. Xmail work great with them. Everything works just perfectly smile.gif


--------------------
Marcin "Nicram" Wilk

GG:2941385
IRC:#ng/nicram (IRCnet)
System:WinXP & OpenBSD 4.5
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQAOLYahooMSN
Top
elypsis
Posted on Sep 17 2004, 11:35 AM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Member No.: 676
Joined: 31-July 03



why still use a dynamic IP address when you can keep your IP static for years...as long as your router and connection out to the net aren't powered off at the same time...most routers or hubs will keep the ip address for eternity...i'm also fairly sure that there are companies that provide you with Dyn-DNS services when you buy their routers!!! smile.gif i don't see why anyone would run a server with a dyn-dns when you can easily and cheaply keep your ip address? of course, i'm assuming that nobody with a dial-up connection is hosting a mail server blink.gif
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
hschneider
Posted on Sep 17 2004, 12:04 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Looks like there are many dialup users. There are many countries where a leased line is either nearly unpayable or unavailable. Other reasons are e.g. serving a mailing list or private system to save provider costs.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
Rob_G
Posted on Sep 17 2004, 02:34 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Member No.: 782
Joined: 30-October 03



QUOTE (elypsis @ Sep 17 2004, 11:35 AM)
why still use a dynamic IP address when you can keep your IP static for years...as long as your router and connection out to the net aren't powered off at the same time...most routers or hubs will keep the ip address for eternity.

This is not true. If the IP address is assigned to you, it's still a DHCP address no matter what. A static IP is assigned to you by the IP block owner, is not part of the ISP's DHCP scope, is an IP that just can't change, and is manually entered into your stack. The reason that most people hang on to they're DHCP IP address is because of poor DHCP manangement on the ISP side. They're not managing they're leases very well, that's all.

If you have an RFC2132 compliant device it will listen to the lease time and release the IP as told. A perfect example is any of the NetScreen (Juniper) firewall's running PPPoE... the 5 series especially.

Now on the other hand, I run a Smoothwall Firewall (Linux Based) in front of another firewall (tiered architechure) because the SmoothWall will ignore the lease time given from the DHCP server. It will hang on to that IP address forever UNTIL the ISP decides to reclaim it. They have every right too and it can happen since I don't have that address statically defined in my IP settings. If they do reclaim it, I just run a cron job every 15 min to connect to my ZoneEdit account via lynx and update my Dyn-DNS that way.

If you take that IP address that they assigned you, put it manually in your IP stack, and they try to reclaim it... you're going to bust yourself out because your now in violation of your EULA (like most of us aren't already!). They'll pounce on you in a heartbeat and strip your service. That shouldn't be needed since there are plenty of workarounds.... example.... Dyn-DNS!

Just my 2 cents.....



--------------------
Rob Gartley
---------------------------------------------
"Information Superhighway"
is just an anagram for
"I'm on a huge wispy rhino fart"
----------------------------------------------
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted on Sep 17 2004, 02:56 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Thanks Rog_G for valuable background info.



--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
« Next Oldest | XMail Server | Next Newest »

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll