Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Undeliverable CRON mails, Howto force delivery to system accounts
hschneider
Posted: Apr 16 2004, 10:49 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



This needs to be
export DEFAULT_DOMAIN="cchtml.com"

instead of only
DEFAULT_DOMAIN="cchtml.com"

Pls restart XMail after changes.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
vegetto34
Posted: Apr 16 2004, 10:57 AM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 988
Joined: 16-March 04



Edited it and that didn't do anything. Flushed queue, unfroze queue... still stuck messages. DEFAULT_DOMAIN was already listed on "set" through the change in profile and it is still there on set.

Do you know anyone else with RedHat 9 that's done this? It must have been something I did, whatever that was, because this seems like such a simple fix.
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted: Apr 16 2004, 11:01 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Maybe something system specific. Please try this:

QUOTE

- Start the crontab editor with 'crontab -e'
- Add a line with your cron message recipient: 'MAILTO=user@your_domain.com'
(your_domain.com has to be a valid XMail domain)
- Exit the editor and restart the cron service.
- For details see the crontab and cron manpages.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
atomant
Posted: Apr 16 2004, 07:05 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



For DEFAULT_DOMAIN to work you need to put it in /usr/sbin/sendmail.sh script line:
export DEFAULT_DOMAIN=mydomain

This way it works 100 % (tested).


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
vegetto34
Posted: Apr 17 2004, 05:18 AM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 988
Joined: 16-March 04



OK I put it in sendmail.sh, but it was a new file... was it supposed to already be there?

I see a sendmail.xmail.sh file... should I edit that one?

Do I need to do anything special? Reboot? Restart xmail? Or will it work next time Cron runs in 4 hours?
PMEmail Poster
Top
atomant
Posted: Apr 17 2004, 07:26 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



Yes, you edit sendmail.xmail.sh. It contains only a few lines. You don't need to restart xmail. Just wait for the next cron to run or run it manually.


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
vegetto34
Posted: Apr 17 2004, 12:09 PM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 988
Joined: 16-March 04



QUOTE (atomant @ Apr 17 2004, 07:26 AM)
Yes, you edit sendmail.xmail.sh. It contains only a few lines. You don't need to restart xmail. Just wait for the next cron to run or run it manually.

Success! That finally did it. Man what a piece of work. Was this RH9 exclusive?

I noticed in the crontab file there is a MAILTO line... would it not be possible to allievate all of this mess and say just change it from "root" to "root@domain.com" ? Or if you don't want e-mails just take out "root" and leave it "".
PMEmail Poster
Top
atomant
Posted: Apr 17 2004, 12:17 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



No, this was not RH9 exclusive, I have RH8 and this is for all *nix.

Yes, you could change MAILTO in crontab or just remove BUT where is the beauty of fixing it to quckly. biggrin.gif

Well, default domain has it's advantages: if you want to send a mail with the /usr/bin/mail than it will add a domain to a username which is very nice because some mailservers rejects sender without a domain.


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
vegetto34
Posted: Jun 7 2004, 06:47 AM
Quote Post


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 89
Member No.: 988
Joined: 16-March 04



I had to edit the sendmail.xmail.sh again after upgrading to 1.20 as it appears that file got wiped and I was getting sending errors on my Cron runs.
PMEmail Poster
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
« Next Oldest | Documentation and Knowledge Base | Next Newest »

Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll