Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Backup MX setup, Config Backup MX for mine and others
catfish
Posted: Feb 19 2004, 05:23 AM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 704
Joined: 26-August 03



I have a friend who needed someone to host his backup (seconary) mail server. Since I've been running an xmail server without a second mx also we agreed to run each other's backup.

I'm running XMail 1.17 under Win2k Pro.
My domain is halfdone.com and the email server is mail.halfdone.com
Lets say his domains are Friend.com and Buddy.com with same email server
MX set to mail1.friend.com.

If I'm reading the Linux Beginner's Guild and these forums right I just need to make these additions to my current setup:

1. Create a new custDomain (for his email)
2. Setup a new MX record (for my email)

My question is with part 1, when do I use the domain and when do I use the server dns name?

The linux guide has:
CtrlClnt -s myserver.mydomain.org -u postmaster -p ciao custdomset customdomain.org
"smtprelay" [Tab] "customdomain.org" [Return]

and another post here says:
Under custdomains directory create a mx1.client.com.tab file with following lines in it:
"smtprelay"[TAB]"server"[NEWLINE]


Now using CtrlClnt am I suppost to do custdomset friend.com, or custdomset mail1.friend.com?
On the "smtprelay" line am I suppost to use friend.com or mail1.friend.com?
Do I need to take into account both of those domains?


Also is there an easy why to test this kinda setup without actually taking down my server? Like tring to email the backup server directly?

Thanks.
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted: Feb 19 2004, 09:35 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



>My question is with part 1, when do I use the domain and when do I use the server dns name?

For custdomains you'll need the domain name, since XMail checks the incoming email address here.

>Now using CtrlClnt am I suppost to do custdomset friend.com, or custdomset mail1.friend.com?

friend.com

>On the "smtprelay" line am I suppost to use friend.com or mail1.friend.com?

mail1.friend.com, because the target is the mailserver's address.
friend.com _should_ also work, since the domain's MX record is looked up.

>Do I need to take into account both of those domains?
You mean 2 smtprelay entries ? No ...

>Also is there an easy why to test this kinda setup without actually taking down my server? Like tring to email the backup server directly?

>Also is there an easy why to test this kinda setup without actually taking down my server? Like tring to email the backup server directly?
Sure - just send a mail to his IP address @xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx or connect by telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 25 and paste a SMTP conversation, you prepared before (or type it live)


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
catfish
Posted: Feb 20 2004, 06:15 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 704
Joined: 26-August 03



>>On the "smtprelay" line am I suppost to use friend.com or mail1.friend.com?
>mail1.friend.com, because the target is the mailserver's address.
>friend.com _should_ also work, since the domain's MX record is
>looked up.

Would I not want it to look up MX since it would loop back to me?

>>Do I need to take into account both of those domains?
You mean 2 smtprelay entries ? No ...

Well how about 2 custdomains then?

I assume I need to do:

CtrlClnt -s localhost -u user -p pass custdomset friend.com
"smtprelay" [Tab] "mail1.friend.com" [Return]
[Ctrl-C]

CtrlClnt -s localhost -u user -p pass custdomset buddy.com
"smtprelay" [Tab] "mail1.friend.com" [Return]
[Ctrl-C]

It would then create 2 files in the custdomains directory called and contains:
friend.com.tab
"smtprelay" [Tab] "mail1.friend.com"

buddy.com.tab
"smtprelay" [Tab] "mail1.friend.com"
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted: Feb 20 2004, 08:20 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Sorry ... I've overread the 2 domains. Yes - in this case let 2 custdomains point to the same target.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
catfish
Posted: Feb 22 2004, 05:13 AM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Member No.: 704
Joined: 26-August 03



Thanks, another thing that is coming up is that now, I'm getting his bounced spam messages to non existant accounts. I don't think he's running xmail so I'll have to bug him about it but I'm wondering how xmail would handle it. Right now I have a "catch all" *@halfdone.com so it would never bounce but what if I dropped that? Would the same thing happen to him?

Just to make sure I understand what is happening, some spammer emails a nonexistant address sales@friend.com to my server. My server accepts anything at his domain. My server then emails the message to his server but his server yells at my server saying that the account doesn't exist so my server sends a message to postmaster about it.

Does xmail do the same thing?
Is there a way to filter this? perhaps some filter/script that ignores error messages from his server? So far it's always been to sales@friend.com there a way to block that address completely?
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted: Feb 22 2004, 10:02 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



If you drop the catchall entry, then XMail will also bounce messages to non existing users. You can filter the bouncing message by a script. Or, when you have a catchall account, you can fitler the message to non existing users also by a script.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
nickp
Posted: Jun 28 2004, 01:39 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 1187
Joined: 27-June 04



QUOTE (hschneider @ Feb 19 2004, 09:35 AM)


mail1.friend.com, because the target is the mailserver's address.
friend.com _should_ also work, since the domain's MX record is looked up.


I am setting up the exact same thing with my brother, both running XMail. The fact that XMail looks up MX records for smtprelay is a bit worrying. I backup Bro's domain, when his server is off, mail will be routed to me as the next priority MX record. If my XMail get's an email for Bro and looks up his domain's MX records, won't it try Bro find him offline then find itself as the backup? Seems like a great opportunity for a loop.

Nick
PMEmail Poster
Top
hschneider
Posted: Jun 28 2004, 07:25 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Setting your bro's domain as an aliasdomain on your machine should prevent loops.


--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
svenvg
Posted: Jun 30 2004, 10:23 AM
Quote Post


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Member No.: 1088
Joined: 29-April 04



Hi,

I'm following this Topic with great interest, as I was using backup MX, and I had to disable it because of continueos mail loops...

I have the Altaircom auto sync tool installed (so if 1 MX has created some new domain, the backup automatically adds this to it's custdomains).

this is how I had the DNS entries:
domain1.com IN MX 10 mx1.domain1.com
domain1.com IN MX 50 domain2.domain2.com
mx1.domain1.com IN A 1.2.3.4

and domain2.domain2.com resolves to the right address (eg. 5.6.7.8)

I have in my custdomain folder a file domain2.com.tab containing only:
"smtp" [NEWLINE] (what the sync program put there automatically)

Result: primary goed down: mail gets delivered to the secondary, that accepts the mail, then opens a connection to the primary, its not available, looks up the DNS MX entry, finds itself as the secondary, opens a conection to itself, deliveres the mail, etc, like 15 times until the maill loop prevention kicks in and stops the loop...
(BTW, when the mail gets deleted by mail loop detection, does the original sender receives a bounce?)

Now Harald, you say add the domain as an aliasdomain, but alias to what domain??? The documentation on alias domain says:
"aliasdomain"[TAB]"realdomain"[NEWLINE]

so I have to setup the domain2.com as alias to domain1.com?? I don't understand, this would try to deliver everything to the local domain, no? let's say I have on both domains info account, would the mail for info@domain2.com not be delivered to info@domain1.com ??

Or should I use "smtprelay"[TAB]"server:port"[NEWLINE] rather then "smtp"[NEWLINE] (but then the sync doesn't work anymore....)

thanks,
Sven.
PMEmail PosterAOL
Top
hschneider
Posted: Jun 30 2004, 10:38 AM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 6631
Member No.: 195
Joined: 19-June 02



Setting the aliasdomain prevents XMail to lookup the MX, sending looping mails to itself. The real domain is an existing domain on the local machine, the alias is the domain of the machine, which is down.

When a loop stops, no notification is sent, because it would produce anotehr loop.

Up to now, there exists no backup MX howto. If you (or any others out there) manage a working setup, please post!



--------------------
Bye,
Harald


-- Download XMail Queue Manager 1.46 NOW: XMail Server Tools
-- Cross platform remote queue management!
-- Message analyzing on the fly!
-- Builtin diagnostics knowledge base!
-- Manages multiple mail queues!

Sponsored by
CD-Produktion und DVD-Produktion and Homestaging Saarland - Immobilien schneller verkaufen in der Region Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz und Luxembourg
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
svenvg
Posted: Jun 30 2004, 12:01 PM
Quote Post


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Member No.: 1088
Joined: 29-April 04



What if we play with the hosts file in Win32 (c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\)??? I don't know how Xmail does the DNS lookups, is it using windows lookup system for that or has it something of its own inside? I mean, all domains inside the hosts file have prio in windows over DNS lookup...
It's eg the hosts file that contains the localhost --> 127.0.0.1

If you put let's say yahoo.com 127.0.0.1 in the hosts file, and you ping to yahoo.com, the ping will go to 127.0.0.1 and not to the real address, because there will be NO DNS lookup... (same with Internet Explorer)

So, what if I put in the hosts file of the backup domain1.com and point it to the real IP? Will Xmail resolve via windows that IP address only? or will Xmail still go to DNS and find the MX 50 entry (Itself).
If not this would be a solution, because the secondary server would like this never find itself in the lookup, but only the primary it's IP (should be static of course)

thanks for your input
Sven.
PMEmail PosterAOL
Top
atomant
Posted: Jun 30 2004, 12:55 PM
Quote Post


No - I'm not an answering script ...
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 1776
Member No.: 427
Joined: 18-January 03



Xmail looks at the DNS servers in the dnsroots file. By default, this file looks like this:
CODE
a.root-servers.net.
h.root-servers.net.
c.root-servers.net.
g.root-servers.net.
f.root-servers.net.
b.root-servers.net.
j.root-servers.net.
k.root-servers.net.
l.root-servers.net.
m.root-servers.net.
i.root-servers.net.
e.root-servers.net.
d.root-servers.net.


But here you can put your own dns servers and delete all others.


--------------------
Bye,
Sasa



-------------------------------------------------------------------

All electric machines work on smoke...when the smoke escape from machines, they don't work anymore
Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming or what?"
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
nickp
Posted: Jul 2 2004, 06:25 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 1187
Joined: 27-June 04



QUOTE (svenvg @ Jun 30 2004, 12:01 PM)
What if we play with the hosts file in Win32 (c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\)??? I don't know how Xmail does the DNS lookups, is it using windows lookup system for that or has it something of its own inside? I mean, all domains inside the hosts file have prio in windows over DNS lookup...
It's eg the hosts file that contains the localhost --> 127.0.0.1

If you put let's say yahoo.com 127.0.0.1 in the hosts file, and you ping to yahoo.com, the ping will go to 127.0.0.1 and not to the real address, because there will be NO DNS lookup... (same with Internet Explorer)

So, what if I put in the hosts file of the backup domain1.com and point it to the real IP? Will Xmail resolve via windows that IP address only? or will Xmail still go to DNS and find the MX 50 entry (Itself).
If not this would be a solution, because the secondary server would like this never find itself in the lookup, but only the primary it's IP (should be static of course)

thanks for your input
Sven.

Interestingly thats exactly what other mail servers suggest you do to prevent loops.
PMEmail Poster
Top
nickp
Posted: Jul 2 2004, 06:30 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 1187
Joined: 27-June 04



QUOTE (atomant @ Jun 30 2004, 12:55 PM)
Xmail looks at the DNS servers in the dnsroots file. By default, this file looks like this:
CODE
a.root-servers.net.
h.root-servers.net.
c.root-servers.net.
g.root-servers.net.
f.root-servers.net.
b.root-servers.net.
j.root-servers.net.
k.root-servers.net.
l.root-servers.net.
m.root-servers.net.
i.root-servers.net.
e.root-servers.net.
d.root-servers.net.


But here you can put your own dns servers and delete all others.

To use this:

Will xmail stop at the first DNS server that returns a match? or will it carry on down the list and eventually find the public server that has teh backup mx record in it.

Is this always used or will XMAIL use stuff in the hosts file first?

Thanks
PMEmail Poster
Top
nickp
Posted: Jul 2 2004, 06:39 PM
Quote Post


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 1187
Joined: 27-June 04



QUOTE (hschneider @ Jun 28 2004, 07:25 PM)
Setting your bro's domain as an aliasdomain on your machine should prevent loops.

Hmm but won't that mean the mail won't get delivered when the primary comes online. Worse it will get thrown away if teh mailboxes don't exist on my server?

Thanks
PMEmail Poster
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
« Next Oldest | Documentation and Knowledge Base | Next Newest »

Closed TopicStart new topicStart Poll